Guinness Is Changing Its Beer For Vegetarian And Vegan Drinkers

Vegan Guinness

Guinness wants to appeal to vegetarian and vegan drinkers, so the Irish brewer is changing the way it produces its popular beer.

The company plans to replace isinglass, a gelatin made from fish bladders used to filter yeast particales, with an animal-free method in late 2016.

“Isinglass has been used widely within the brewing industry as a means of filtration for decades,” the company said in a statement. “However, because of its use we could not label Guinness as suitable for vegetarians and have been looking for an alternative solution for some time.”

Guinness is made with barley, hops, yeast, and water, along with traces of fish bladder.

In previous statements, Guinness has said it was searching for a method that is “as effective or as environmentally friendly…whilst maintaining the quality of the liquid.”

Guinness is brewed in 49 countries, but the company said the new filtration method will only be used at itt its flagship brewery in Ireland.

The 25 Highest Paying Business Careers in 2020

Guinness parent company Diageo says microbrewery competition was a big reason Guinness’s draught sales weakened in 2015.

Beers from Anheuser-Busch and Miller have already been deemed vegetarian friendly.

Written by Peter Mondrose

Peter Mondrose

Peter Mondrose is the Editor-In-Chief at BusinessPundit. He received his degree in Economics in 1998 and a second degree in Journalism in 2004. He has served as a financial adviser, market trader, and freelance journalist for the last 11 years. When he's not investigating market conditions and reporting on workplace news, he can be found traveling with his wife, dog, and laptop. He can be reached at