University of Wisconsin-Superior Online

The University of Wisconsin-Superior was founded in 1893 as a school to train teachers. It was then known as the Superior Normal School. It became part of the University of Wisconsin System in 1971 and adapted its present name. It has been designated as Wisconsin’s Leading Public Liberal Arts College. The university is comprised of several academic departments including Aerospace Studies; Art; Business and Economics; Communicating Arts; Educational Leadership; Health and Human Performance; Human Behavior, Justice and Diversity; Mathematics and Computer Science; Music; Natural Sciences; Social Inquiry; World Languages; Literature and Cultures; and Writing, Reading and Library Science.

Online courses are offered through the university’s Distance Learning Center. Online degree programs include the Bachelor of Science in Communicating Arts, Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education, Bachelor of Science with an Individually Designed Major, and Bachelor of Science in Sustainable Management. Most courses are offered completely online except for some that require minimal campus visits. The programs are handled by highly qualified faculty members. The university is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Admission to the university’s online programs is subject to certain requirements. Applicants should be residents of the United States or citizens residing outside the country who have reliable Internet access. Previous students of the University of Wisconsin System are likewise welcome to apply for admission. Interested individuals can complete an online application and submit requirements as provided by the chosen program. Qualified students can make use of financial aid options such as grants, loans, scholarships, and military benefits. Tuition rates vary depending on the program.

The University of Wisconsin-Superior occupies 84th place in the 2011 Best Colleges Ranking by US News and World Report for the Tier I Regional Universities (Midwest) Category.